Yoga Sutra Illustration 2.18

प्रकाशक्रियास्थितिशीलं भूतेन्द्रियात्मकं भोगापवर्गार्थं दृश्यम्

prakasa kriya sthitisilam bhutendriyatmakam bhogapavargartham drsyam 

The seen has the nature of being, doing and illumination and consists of the elements and the senses. Its purpose is experience and liberation.

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, 2.18

prakasa = illumination
kriya = action
sthiti = inertia
silam = having the nature of
bhuta = elements
endriya = sense organs
atmakam = consisting of
bhoga = experience
apavarga = liberation
artham = purpose
drsyam = the seen

The rocks represent being, the water doing and the sun illumination.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s