Yoga Sutra Illustration 1.17

vitarka vicara ananda asmita rupa anugamat samprajnatah

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, 1.17

vitarka = reasoning
vicara = reflecting
ananda = bliss
asmita = oneness
rupa = form
anugamat = happens
samprajnatah = [samadhi] with consciousness

I drew a flower to represent the kind of consciousness described in this sutra.

Yoga Sutra Illustration 1.16

tat param purusa khyateh guna vaitrsnyam

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, 1.16

tat = that
param = supreme
purusa = clear consciousness
khyateh = realization
guna = the three qualities
vaitrsnyam = free from desire

For this one I thought it would be a kind of freedom so I drew a picture to try and represent that 🙂

Yoga Sutra Illustration 1.15

drsta anushravita visaya vitrshnasya vasikara samjna vairagyam

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, 1.15

drsta = seen
anushravita = heard
visaya = objects
vitrshnasya = who has control over desires
vasikara = mastery
samjna = consciousness
vairagyam = aligning with what is

I feel that this isn’t just about asceticism and renouncing things we want, and could also be something we naturally grow into or already are without realising it. Similar to the unconditional love that a parent has for a child that is just giving, doesn’t need anything in return and just flows out without any effort.

Yoga Sutra Illustration 1.14

Over time continued earnest practice becomes firmly grounded

sa tu dirgha kala nairantarya satkara sevito drdha bhumih

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, 1.14

sa = this
tu = and
dirgha = long
kala = time
nairantarya = continuous
satkara = earnestness
asevito = well attended to
drdha = firm
bhumih = ground

I drew the tree roots to represent firm grounded-ness and the people are doing a balance pose, to represent continued earnest practice.